I Found an Answer….

Posted on

MY FIRST TESTIMONY

Things had changed.

  1. I gave my life over to GOD.
  2. I stopped smoking.
  3. I was a new creature.

2 Corinthians 5:17 (KJV)

17 Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

So, immediately after this amazing transformation, I was elated! If you’ve been there before, you know what I’m talking about. It’s this feeling of newness. Yes, newness is a good word.  I saw everything differently. The world, my life, my family, everything! The next few months were awesome.  First, I stopped smoking. I thought it was going to be hard. After 14 years, I expected to really wrestle with this. I could recall hearing people say how hard it was to quit and so, I prepared myself for withdrawals and a whole lot of “cheating”. What I wasn’t prepared for, was total and complete surrender. One day, after church, when we got home, the first thing we did was get the kids settled inside. Then, what we usually would do, is go right back outside to smoke. But this day was different. I had been saved two days and I was still very excited and I felt convicted for wanting to go out and smoke right after church. So, I didn’t. I went into my bedroom, shut and locked the door and immediately began to pray like Pastor Easton had told me.

Matthew 6:6 (KJV)

But thou, when thou prayest, enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray to thy Father which is in secret; and thy Father which seeth in secret shall reward thee openly.

I know how this sounds, okay. Every time I tell someone this, I still get goosebumps and I must immediately begin to give GOD praise. I promise you, this is no lie. I prayed that GOD would take the taste for cigarettes(and anything else) out of my mouth. I told HIM, that I didn’t want to smoke anymore and here I am, 4 years and 4 months later and I have NOT SMOKED SINCE! Never, not even once.

Immediately after that prayer, the desire to smoke completely left me.

No smoking? No problem!
No smoking? No problem!

I had no withdrawals, no cravings and no regrets. I was both shocked and ecstatic! So when I hear folks say they can’t stop or they need a patch or the gum, I always want to ask, “Did you try JESUS yet?”

2 thoughts on “I Found an Answer….

    Sheridan Johnson said:
    October 15, 2015 at 4:13 am

    YAY!! I am so proud of you, and yes, I completely this happened to you! The only people that wouldn’t, are the ones who have not walked in your shoes, or my shoes. Thanks be to God for taking care of our struggles for us! Congrats!

    Liked by 1 person

      Lanie ❤ responded:
      October 15, 2015 at 7:34 pm

      Thanks so much! I try to tell people that GOD can and will deliver you, if you truly believe! 😊

      Like

Comments are closed.