New Beginnings……Yay or Nay? Maybe Both?

Posted on Updated on

This is MY new beginning!
This is MY new beginning!

Today was a full of new beginnings.  It’s kind of bittersweet for me.  As a mother of four, I’m constantly having issues with my babies growing up way too fast.  For example, today, my youngest daughter, Cake, started kindergarten, and yes, I cried. Even though we moms may joke about finally having the house to ourselves, to read, watch our soap operas, and maintaining a clean house, once they leave, we can’t stand it.  Eventually, we do get over it and start our own routines, but we miss them. Sniff, sniff.  I’m okay. Now, where was I? Ah Yes, my babies leaving. So then, my oldest daughter, Bean, started her first year of middle school today.  She was both excited and terribly nervous and so was I. This is an entirely new chapter for her, for the both of us.  But, I did my best to prepare her for the challenges that await her and the rest, I’m leaving to God.  I also have two precious boys. My younger son, Duece, started 3rd grade today. Small tear.  So, now it’s him and the baby girl, Cake, at the elementary school together.  He has bravely stepped into his new role as THE big brother.   Now, he has to watch out for her as they ride that big yellow bus home together. Just like Bean had to do for him last year.  And boy, is he taking his responsibilities seriously! This entire past week leading up to the first day of school it’s been, “Mom, would you tell her she has to listen to me?”, or “Mom, she said that I’m not the boss of her!”.  Great times. Last but definitely not least, is my oldest baby,  Punkin. Yes, Punkin! Not Pumpkin! He is in his second year of middle school, so today wasn’t as difficult for him. Which only served to have me tearing up even more.  He wants to leave me.  He’s only 12, but already he’s starting to tower over me.  He’s planning on trying out for football this school year,  and his dad has even started allowing him to earn money for himself by helping out with extra things around the house. It’s all just too much, too fast! And that is exactly the reason we can’t hold on to them.  Time is moving really fast.  Pretty soon we’ll be dropping them off at college. I’m just going to take a nap(look at baby pictures) before they come home so that I’ll be well rested(done crying)and ready to hear about each of their days. I ‘m okay though. 😥

